Sneak Peek: Dodos Are NOT Extinct!

Preview the hilarious new picture book, Dodos Are NOT Extinct! by Paddy Donnelly, before it hits bookstores next month.

Title: Dodos Are NOT Extinct!Author: Paddy Donnelly | Illustrator: Paddy Donnelly | Genre: Picture Book (Fiction) | Publisher: Yeehoo Press | Release date: February 8, 2022

Book Description: A hilarious, engaging primer on famous extinct—but never forgotten— animals that will keep kids giggling and guessing on every page, perfect for fans of Brendan Wenzel’s Hello Hello and Mo Willems’ Edwina.

Psst! Hey you! Can you keep a secret?
Dodos are NOT extinct!
In fact, if you look extra closely, you might be able to spot other extinct animals . . . like woolly mammoths, saber-toothed tigers, and even dinosaurs! These famous creatures are in disguise everywhere, so keep your eyes peeled! You never know who might be right under your nose.

Author-illustrator Paddy Donnelly delivers a silly, animal-filled read that is perfect for story time sharing at home or for the classroom. Nonfiction back matter jam-packed with facts about the endangered and extinct animals featured in the story makes this creative book as educational as it is fun.

My Thoughts: In this laugh-out-loud picture book, readers learn the truth about animals we’ve always thought were extinct. From DIY disguises to not-so-secret hiding places, these legendary creatures find unique ways to hide among us and never get caught by the paparazzi. But clever kids will delight in finding the magnificent megaladon lurking in the sea or spotting the stylish sober-toothed tiger with fabulous facial hair. Every animal has it’s own special way of hiding in plain sight making this a fun page-turner for parents and children alike. The illustrations are colorful and filled with details to discover. Dodos Are NOT Extinct! is lots of fun to read aloud and a timeline in the back matter means children can learn something too.

Buy the Book:
Amazon | Amazon UK | Barnes & Noble

Add the Book to Goodreads

About the Author & Illustrator: Paddy Donnelly is an award winning Irish author and illustrator of many children’s books, including The Vanishing Lake, which was the 2021 IPPY Gold Medal winner. He grew up on the north coast of Ireland, surrounded by mythical stories of giants, magical creatures, and shape-shifting animals, all set in a stunning landscape from another time. All of this prompted his love of nature, animals, the sea, and storytelling. He creates his illustrations digitally and loves working with a textured, painterly approach. Paddy lives in Belgium. He wishes Pluto was still a planet. Visit Paddy at http://lefft.com/

For more information about Dodos Are NOT Extinct!, visit Yeehoo Press.

One thought on “Sneak Peek: Dodos Are NOT Extinct!

We'd love to hear from you! Leave a reply here.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s